JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

Borders: My Happy Place

Borders in Mays Landing, New Jersey

Words cannot even describe how I feel right now. When I first heard that Borders was closing down those many months ago, my heart was caught in my throat. Then the details came out that though there was some liquidation to come, not all the stores would be closed. The Borders that I had been going to ever since I could read had been reprieved and I thanked the stars for that.

It was because of Borders that my passion for reading is what it is now. I owe it all to this store for everything– for my childhood, for my life as it is now. See that picture to the left? That was the Borders that I grew up with. Flash back 15 years. Ever since I could remember, my dad took me to this store. It was our weekly excursion and he would buy me as many books as I wanted (though I never chose more than four at a time). Flash back 9 years. I was at my first magical Harry Potter midnight party (I proceeded to attend my second and third for books six and seven as well). Flash back 7 years. I played a game with a friend in this store because we both claimed that we knew exactly where to find what ever book. So… we would give each other a title of a book to find and then race to see who could find their respective book first (dorky but true).

The point is that this store has always been my happy place, the one place where I could walk into and instantly smile. It has played a large role in creating my love for reading and for books. I used to tell my dad that as soon as I turned 18, this was where I wanted to work. As you know, I decided to pursue a career in publishing and again, that can be attributed to Borders. I can’t believe that it’s really closing.

– Jane

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2011 by in Jane, News and tagged , , , , .

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

