JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

The Epic Finale

The Deathly Hallows Part 2Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 was hands down my favorite film in the franchise. It goes without saying that I was one of those hard core fans that insisted that all my friends dress in their respective house colors and let me draw a lightening bolt scar on their foreheads. Thank you friends for participating in my Harry Potter frenzy and for being such good sports! Now onward to my review of the movie…

The movie was really the epic finale that was promised. Full of fanfare and action, the movie delivered in aces. But what was so extraordinary was how the director did not let the action overshadow the emotional impact that this film would have to its loyal fans. I can say without shame that I was tearing up by midpoint and those emotions carried on throughout the rest of the movie until we had to say goodbye to the characters on screen once and for all.

Did the movie stay true to the book? Yes and no. There were noticeable alterations to the film, but I wasn’t too bothered by the deviations for once. I thought that most of the edits were in favor of keeping the story going and even improved certain moments. Now here is my only complaint, I was a bit let down towards the end. After all that great action and emotion, the final showdown between Harry and Voldemort happened too fast in my opinion. I really wish they stuck to the book for that scene with everyone in the crowd watching and I was eager to see Voldemort and Bellatrix battle three at a time before Harry and Mrs. Weasley came to finish them off. When Harry gave Voldemort his little speech before finishing him off in the book, I had goosebumps. I wanted that same feeling when that scene in the book was translated to screen. This is the only reason that the film received a 4.5 instead of a 5 star rating.

But again, the movie was fantastic. Simply wonderful. I was exhausted by the time the midnight premiere came around, but it was so captivating that I was wide awake throughout the entire duration. I even waved my “wand” at the movie screen at one point! I definitely recommend it, and this is my favorite summer movie to date.

Post-Potter Depression is at its all time high for this Muggle,
– Jane

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2011 by in Book to Screen, Jane and tagged , , , .

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

