JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

eReaders and I don’t mix. Yet.

Hi all,

It’s been a little crazy around here, but the good news is that Carin & I are hanging on tight to our internships. We’re loving our publishing life here at the company and definitely not ready to let it go at any point.

It’s been a crazy time for the book publishing industry as eBooks are becoming more and more popular.

If you know me at all, you know I have a firm passion for the physical book. I love the feel of a book and flipping through the pages… something that an eReader will never give me. The physical book is just so much more tangible. Also, as great as the eReader is, what if it dies? Think about it, an eReader can run out of battery then gasp, you must wait until you recharge it to finish what you’re reading. You can see my reluctance to accept that the digital form of books is rising but even with my feeble arguments, I can’t argue against the brilliance and convenience of the eReader.

A book at a touch of a button. Instant delivery to the device that you are holding. A device that is so light, that it bears no significant weight on that heavy bag you’re holding. A device that contains a bunch of books, so you never have to wait to start another one. Oh damn you technology for being so convenient and making so much sense.

So maybe it’s time to immerse myself into this digital age of eBooks. I do have an iPad and I have read eBooks on it, so maybe I’m already conforming. But either way, I have a feeling I will always prefer a physical book over its digital form. It’s funny because I love all things digital, but when it comes to reading a book, I’m as old-fashioned as they come. Bring me my book with its beautiful crisp white pages, and watch me increase its beauty by reading it over and over again and wearing it down with creases and love.

Anyway, tell me about your experience with books becoming digital. Do you prefer the physical book or the eBook? Do you have an eReader and if you do, any recommendation on which one? Kindle? Nook?

– Jane

Update: I just came across this article, The Future of Printed Literature: A Digital Dilemma. I thought it was an interesting read, so take a look!

8 comments on “eReaders and I don’t mix. Yet.

  1. Abigail
    August 30, 2011

    I find physical books just better. I’ve read books on ebook form and they just don’t have the same feel or tenseness. Or the text is messed up
    just
    like
    so
    which
    makes it
    so hard to read. Moreover, you can’t just loan out an ebook. So, until ebooks get cheaper, I probably won’t be buying any.

    About the best ebook reader, my mom has a cybook that she really likes, and she did a lot of research before she bought that.

    • Jane
      August 30, 2011

      I totally agree! For example, Carin fell in love with Water for Elephants and while I enjoyed it, I didn’t match her enthusiasm for the book. As we were discussing, we realized that she had a physical copy while I read it via e-book. Could this be a contributing factor? It certainly can be. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  2. rockerlifecoach
    August 30, 2011

    Currently I am still reading 3 books in print form, I have 2 unread in digital form. My personal books are only available in digital form.
    From the authors view im liking the self publish formats, and the idea that im able to get my books to the public with minimal cost. They are for sale on amazon kindle, and PDF format from my page.
    The readers point. I feel that the idea of buying more then one at a time we are not able to read all of the books we have, it makes for more sales of digital books, but wondering if all of them are read.
    But in our world of travel its good to carry one device that has everything we need on it and not to have to carry 3 or more books when traveling.

    • Jane
      September 1, 2011

      Love the fact that you provided perspectives from both sides. I definitely agree that as a self-published author, being able to just get your work out there at a minimal cost? Well, why not? It’s a great way to spread word and maybe even land a deal with a publishing company! As for from the readers point of view, I am definitely more inclined to read my physical books as opposed to eBooks as they just keep piling up right in front of my eyes — which sorry to say, means my eBooks get neglected…

  3. nexi
    August 31, 2011

    A radical downsize meant jettisoning books and buying a Kindle. I’m used to reading text online and found the digital transition painless. It is so easy to pick up and carry on from the page being read. Or was. Visiting son immediately adopted it….!
    Other big plus is that idle it consumes virtually no power, and easily replaced if broken. Have no doubt that Kindle is a transition which will itself be superceeded.

    • Jane
      September 1, 2011

      Hmmm fair point. I have read fanfiction (I know, major dork here!) online and they were hundreds of pages long! But because there was no other format to read it on, I drank it up on my computer. I do recall that I tried to print it out… but quickly realized that would be a huge task to undertake.

  4. pallas89
    September 1, 2011

    Since February I’m the prowd owner of a Kindle. I have to say that I had my share of doubts; so many reviews on Amazon, most loving it, but some really hating it, and I did not have a clue if it would read ‘natural’. I was afraid I’d miss turning a page, flipping through pages, admiring the cover (:P) etc. But after having settled with my ereader, I just loved it. After reading half a book you don’t even miss it that you have to flip pages manually, but can just push a button. This is way more convenient when you’re reading in bed.
    Also, if the book in its physical form is heavy (Like Frank Schätzing’s Limit; 1300+ pages, weighs about 1 kg), then an ebook is slightly better, especially if travelling by train or so.

    “Think about it, an eReader can run out of battery then gasp, you must wait until you recharge it to finish what you’re reading.”
    True, had that on a short cycling trip, so “unfortunately” I had to buy a new book in the city 😉
    But on the other hand; you can also finish your regular book (which you not always want to re-read), and have no other books left to read. Think of it; If you’re going cycling/hiking for some weeks it’s much more convenient to take your ereader, in stead of the minimum of 2 books (you could take one, swap it at a hostel etc. but then you don’t necessarily have books you want to read). saves a lot of (weight and) space.

    Anyway, you could say, I’m definitely convinced by my Kindle. I works perfectly, battery works nice and long, 4gb is enough to store a huge library on it, and… the screen seriously feels like reading from a paper book. That said, having an ereader won’t stop me from buying hard copies 😉

    • Jane
      September 1, 2011

      Out of the selection of eReaders, I’m leaning towards the Kindle… so it’s great to hear your experience with it! I’m just wondering if its worth investing in when I have an iPad already, though I’m sure the screen contributes to the overall feel of it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2011 by in Jane, News and tagged , , , , , .

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

