JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

Story Time!

I know, I know… I’ve been M.I.A. lately. But, as Jane said, things have gotten a little crazy over here. I’m in training to be an interior book designer/compositor, and it’s been sucking up most of my energy. But of course, I’m still making time for reading, and it’s about time I shared.

Since I last posted, I’ve had the pleasure of reading When A Crocodile Eats the Sun, a haunting memoir by the fascinating Peter Godwin about Zimbabwe at the beginning of Mugabe’s rule and a look into the plight of white Africans in our not-distant-at-all past; I read the slightly modernized reprint of Lois Duncan’s Stranger with My Face, and I loved it just as much as I did when I was younger (I’m slightly embarrassingly addicted to that book.); and I began reading three more books:

The first, which I am almost finished, is Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. The book publishes next month, and I don’t want to give too much away, so I will simply say that it’s about magic and evil and love and beauty and destiny and mystery and everything in between. It’s a YA book, but it’s written with a nice mixture of teen banter and poetry, and is overall a really nice read. I can’t wait until the mystery completely unravels!

The second, is a manga called A Bride’s Story and it is, simply, beautiful. I’m loving the story, and the artwork is so intricate, so gorgeous, that sometimes I just sit staring at one frame. Perhaps that is why I haven’t quite finished reading it.

And the third, which I had originally planned to focus this post on, is Hell’s Horizon by Darran Shan. I’m loving this book because (prepare to gag a little), my boyfriend and I are reading it together! And not in the acceptable, let’s-read-then-discuss book-club way, but in the totally adorable he-reads-to-me-as-we-lay-in-bed story-time way. I swear, we’re not regressing (though we do try to avoid admitting that we’re adults now); it’s actually a very sweet way to bond, and Hell’s Horizon is a fun action-packed thriller, definitely keeping us interested. You should grab a guy (or girl) and try it sometime. I promise, in no way will it feel like you’re back in high school, trudging through Silas Marner paragraph by miserable paragraph, if you pick the right book… and the right person.

Happy reading!

– Carin 

Leave a Reply

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

