JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

New eye candy // Lit Tattoos!

Thanks to this recent post by Amanda Rudd, I am now slightly obsessed with the idea of literary tattoos. So I began stalking The Word Made Flesh and am in love! Some people went with images, many from Where the Wild Things Are, some Alice in Wonderland, a few Chuck Palahniuk… Others went with their favorite quotes, which I adore. Here’s some of the first few I came upon, but there’s a wealth more on the site and in their book of the same name.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, of course I got to thinking… on my next drunken night, when I finally find an open tattoo parlor at 2am, what will I get a tattoo of? I’m torn. Do I go with my favorite novel and ink in some meaningful quote from Fahrenheit 451? I also think I’d love a “Do I dare disturb the universe?” penned on my forearm, from T.S. Eliot’s “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock.” If I was feeling a little existentialist, I’d do a “Nothing to be done.” underneath a dead tree — “Waiting for Godot” style. If I was feeling particularly absurdist, I’d probably go with “I love you and everything is beautiful.” (From “Jet of Blood”… honestly the strangest play I’ve ever read, though people would probably read it and think I was being cutesy and idealistic.)

In any case, I am totally intrigued by the realization that this may be the only tattoo that I wouldn’t regret. Amanda, let me know when you decide what to go with. Everyone else… what quote/image/book do you love enough that you’d ink it permanently on your skin?

– Carin 

5 comments on “New eye candy // Lit Tattoos!

  1. mikeferguson52
    August 30, 2011

    I’ve seen LOTS of folks in recovery with a mini-version of the AA-Bigbook cover tat’d onto themselves somewhere. Sadly, when they get over their initial “I’ve got all the answers” attitude, many relapse and have the tat as a reminder! There’s a saying, “A headful of AA and a Bellyfull of beer don’t mix”… I imagine adding a BigBook tat into that equation is just as confusing!

  2. Rick Daddario
    August 30, 2011

    aloha Carin – i hadnt thought about this. it’s a great opening to cruise around with inside my skull. it occurs to me that bookplates might also be… intriguing to explore as tat material. altho i have to say the quote potential is outstanding as a possible too. as a visual artist… may be some quotes from other artists i’ve read… then again haiku. oh. yeah. and then the fun P.I. books. or may be…yeah. cool post. aloha.

  3. zookyshirts
    August 31, 2011

    Before this, I’ve only seen a photo of a tattoo with an e.e. cumming’s poem (I think it was “i carry your heart”). This is some serious love for the written word — and it’s amazing that someone took the stop to ink those words onto their bodies. I’d have such a hard time deciding which words to tattoo! When I read in your post, “Do I dare disturb the universe?” I immediately thought of The Chocolate War, which I’ve read this past year and really enjoyed. It’s been a long, long time since I read “Prufrock.” Neat post, thanks!

    • Jane & Carin
      August 31, 2011

      I still can’t figure out which words I would want to tattoo! But I’ve now added The Chocolate War to my “read asap” list. Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed the post! -Carin

  4. yantangle
    August 31, 2011

    Love the idea – I shall have to think about this one. My first reaction would be something from Douglas Adams. Just “42” maybe?

Leave a Reply

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

