JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

Banned Books Week

September 24th to October 1st is known as Banned Books Week!

Banned and Challenged Classics
1. The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald
2. The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger
3. The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck
4. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee
5. The Color Purple, by Alice Walker
6. Ulysses, by James Joyce
7. Beloved, by Toni Morrison
8. The Lord of the Flies, by William Golding
9. 1984, by George Orwell

Top Ten Most Frequently Challenged Books of 2010
1. And Tango Makes Three
, by Peter Parnell and Justin Richardson
2. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie
3. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley
4. Crank, by Ellen Hopkins
5. The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins
6. Lush, by Natasha Friend
7. What My Mother Doesn’t Know, by Sonya Sones
8. Nickel and Dimed, by Barbara Ehrenreich
9. Revolutionary Voices
, edited by Amy Sonnie
10. Twilight, by Stephenie Meyer

I don’t know about you, but I have to say that I’ve done my share of reading the “challenged” and “banned” books on the lists above. I’m feeling pretty rebellious! In spirit of this week, I think I’m going to take it a step further and cross another one of these books of my list. I’ve read stories from The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian in my creative writing class in college, but never got around to reading the entire book. The excerpts I read were great so that’s going to be my next “challenged” book I read.

Have you read any of these books on the list? Curious to see why they were challenged or banned? Time to get started and find out!

Happy Reading,
– Jane

P.S. Click this for a cool infographic for more information on why the above titles were the Top Ten Banned/Challenged Books in 2010! Reasons include: religious viewpoints, homosexuality, sexually explicit, violence, and more.

2 comments on “Banned Books Week

  1. Emily Chau
    September 26, 2011

    We read Part Time Indian as a school wide project my Freshman year. It was good. You should finish reading it big sis!

  2. Pingback: Teen Read Week « jane & carin // books

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2011 by in Jane, News and tagged , , , , .

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

