JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

The Lady of the Rivers

Confession to make. Along with my love for YA books, I have a soft spot for English historical fiction. Namely, the time of the Plantagenets and the Tudors. You can thank Philippa Gregory for that with The Other Bolelyn Girl, The Queen’s Fool, and the White Queen. I’ve read most of her books and have been eagerly waiting for the arrival of The Lady of the Rivers.

Sypnosis

Jacquetta, daughter of the Count of Luxembourg and kinswoman to half the royalty of Europe, was married to the great Englishman John, Duke of Bedford, uncle to Henry VI. Widowed at the age of nineteen she took the extraordinary risk of marrying a gentleman of her house-hold for love, and then carved out a life for herself as Queen Margaret of Anjou’s close friend and a Lancaster supporter – until the day that her daughter Elizabeth Woodville fell in love and married the rival king Edward IV. Of all the little-known but important women of the period, her dramatic story is the most neglected. With her links to Melusina, and to the founder of the house of Luxembourg, together with her reputation for making magic, she is the most haunting of heroines.

I already named my top three favorite Phillipa Gregory books above and The White Queen was one of them. Naturally, I was eager to hear more about the Woodville women and this was perfect. It started a little slow for my taste, but it was still intriguing with the appearance of Joan of Arc. I’m not sure how much historical truth is in this (I usually look up all the information once I finish one of her books) but it still makes for a fascinating read. I’m currently 86 pages in and can’t wait to get some time to relax and absorb more of the story. Oh and I also want to mention that this is a pretty big book in itself and I usually HATE lugging around hardcover books in the city. Especially when I can’t even enjoy them on my subway ride when there are ten million people in one car (okay that’s an exaggeration but come on!).

I’ve been searching for other great historical fiction writers of this time era, and the closest author that I found that I liked is Allison Weir. She’s a historian but came out with two novels — one about  Jane Grey and one of Elizabeth Tudor. I recommend them and if anyone has a suggestion for me to check out… I’ll gladly take it on!

One more confession. I grew so interested in this time period that I watched all the seasons of The Tudors and took a history class in college called Reformation England (which, by the way, became my favorite class that semester). I guess you can say I don’t do things halfway and I indulge my inner-geek in full.

Thanks for reading!
– Jane

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 28, 2011 by in Currently Reading, Fiction, Jane and tagged , , , , , , .

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

