JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

Goodreads // 2011 Reading Challenge

Can I just say that I love Goodreads? It’s such a great way of keeping track of books that you have read, are reading, and want to read. I also love seeing what my friends are reading and from their picks, I add more books onto my to-read shelf that I otherwise might not have even thought about picking up.

So my 2011 Reading Challenge was to read 50 new books. I have a habit of falling in love with a book and just re-reading it over and over until I find another book that catches my eye. This “challenge” encouraged me to discover and read more titles and I’m happy to say that I reached my goal of 50 books on November 18th and have been continuing to read even more. Then I realized that if I read 52 books, that would have meant a book weekly throughout the year! So ladies and gentleman… here are books #50-52 with a short blurb and  a favorite quote from the story.

Book #50: Belles by Jen Calonita

“No guts, no glory!

I actually received an advanced reading copy of Belles (pub date: April 2012) and I have to say that this is exactly the type of book that I loved reading growing up. I’ve always been partial to stories of kids dealing with family drama and this one has a social worker sending Iz -our main character- off to live with an uncle she never knew she had and his family. I’m sure that readers would love and enjoy the characters of Iz and Mira and I’m excited to see more from Jen Calonita’s new series! In short, don’t judge a book by its cover. The cover didn’t appeal to me, but the story inside touched me.

Book #51: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn, David Levithan

“I was attempting to write the story of my life. It wasn’t so much about plot. It was much more about character.”

This one I grabbed off the bookshelf at B&N after telling myself that I was not to buy another book (I’m hoarding a large amount of books that are screaming “read me!”). Alas, the concept of the book and the first chapter made me get in the check-out line. This one has an interesting concept as it starts with a ordinary red Moleskin notebook with riddles and dares left at The Strand by our female protagonist Lily, when a young man by the name of Dash happens to come over it. They trade the notebook back and forth all over New York City sharing a little bit of themselves each time.

Book #52: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

“In the absence of human relationships I formed bonds with paper characters. I lived love and loss through stories threaded in history; I experienced adolescence by association. My world is one interwoven web of words, stringing limb to limb, bone to sinew, thoughts and images all together. I am being comprise of letters, a character created by sentences, a figment of imagination formed through fiction. They want to delete every point of punctuation in my life from this earth and I don’t think I can let that happen.”

Coming back around to Goodreads, I spotted this title as a book that two of my friends have read. They both gave it high ratings so naturally it piqued my curiosity. So here it is, Book #52. I finished this last night and I have to say that it was exactly what it promised-The Hunger Games meets the X-Men. This is a story of Juliette who has similar powers to Rogue from X-Men (there are serious consequences when she comes in direct skin contact with another human being) with elements such as a destroyed world, prison cells, a strange yet familiar face, an obsessed tyrant, and power (lots of power).

So I originally wanted to post and review one of these books specifically, but I’m happy to say that I really really enjoyed these last three books that I have read! I think I even rated all of them five stars on Goodreads… which is why they are getting a shout-out here. They are all young adult books with relatively different stories and each one caught my attention in different ways. I also want to thank Goodreads because it’s a great way to keep track and discover new books. You can check out the rest of my books that I’ve read here for the 2011 year!

Sorry that this was so long, but I had to make up for not blogging all month!

Thanks for Reading!
Jane

Leave a Reply

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

