JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

Look, Ma! No Hands! // My first e-reader

This weekend I realized that I’ve turned into someone I never thought I’d become. I’ve crossed to the other side, abandoned my values, flipped the switch. However you want to phrase it, it has, alas, happened. Way sooner than I thought it would…

I have become an e-reader-er.

Wait…What?! Huh?! What happened to your love of physical books? The jackets and covers and composition? Isn’t physical books what you do for a living?

Well, yes, but…

Yes.

Guilty.

In my defense?… the nook was a gift. I mean, I wasn’t planning on buying the traitor device. But once I opened the box, I thought, Hey, I’m an innovative, technology savvy publisher-girl… I should probably try this thing out.

So I did. First purchase? The Hunger Games.

Perhaps that was where I went wrong. Someone else stuck the knife (er… nook) in my hand… I just bedazzled it with this kickass story to make me wont to tote it around. Show it off. Look at my shiny new nook as I finally read The Hunger Games.

Every page turn felt like a stab in the back of all the physical books I’ve ever cherished. But it felt wonderful. Powerful. Sleek in my hands and so incredibly lightweight. Here I was on the subway, clinging on for dear life with one hand, yet still able to flip through this captivating book with ease with the other. Once I forgave the composition problems that come with e-reading, I became quite fond of this little device that never seemed to die on me, that I could whip right out, my last page on display, waiting for me. I have to admit, it felt damn near like the perfect reading experience.

But, instead of clicking “buy” on the second part of the trilogy, I told myself I’d grab one of the books on my bookshelf instead (which lead to Faithful Place!). And what happened? Well, I’m having a good reading experience, but I can’t stop thinking… maybe I should buy the ebook version. *sigh*. I feel like a lost cause. I’ll soon have nightmares of this stunting the growth of my library… fears of never being able to let a friend borrow a book again.

This makes me sad. But like any good addiction, not sad enough to stop.

Happy (e-)Reading.

Carin

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2011 by in Book Reviews, Carin, Insiders, News and tagged , , , , , , .

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

