JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

Winter is Coming

Hello January 2012! This is the first blog in awhile and I have to apologize for that. The holidays and the new year took over and my blogging fell behind… but not any longer for I have a book to talk about. Can you guess what it is based on the title of this blog?

If you guessed A GAME OF THRONES, then you are absolutely right. My cousin had been telling me to read/watch the HBO series for the past couple of months and I kind of shrugged him off. I watched the first three episodes, liked it, but stopped watching in favor of a LOST marathon. Then I decided to crack the book open to see if I would like it better in writing. The prologue made me curious. Chapter one sucked me in a bit. By the time I finished chapter two, I knew it was going to one long haul as this was a humongous book… one long haul turned out to be in a week’s time. That’s right, I finished this gigantic book in one week. How did I do it? Um, let’s see… I read it when I woke up, before I slept, during my commute, when I was bored, etc, etc. The story was good okay?


You know what I found curious? I already knew what happened in the beginning of the book because I watched the first three episodes. So… why was I so much more intrigued by the writing than what was on the screen? The writing made it more real and clear to me- each chapter is written in a different character’s point of view and gave me time to really feel out the personalities. The show introduces many characters at once and I had a harder time keeping up with who was who but now that I’m finished the book, I’m really excited to resume watching the show. I think that the casting is incredible and I’m eager to see how certain moments play out on screen.

Characters that I admire/like: Tyrion, Arya, Jon, Daenerys
Characters that I wanted to pick up and shake or hurt: Sansa and all the Lannisters (excluding the imp of course)

Have you read or watched [A] Game of Thrones? What are your thoughts about the book to screen adaption?

– Jane

8 comments on “Winter is Coming

  1. kim
    January 11, 2012

    somehow they did what Martin had written to be impossible — adapted a book of thousands into 10 short hours of TV.

    • Jane
      January 11, 2012

      It’s definitely an impressive undertaking. My friend pointed out that the children are going to age noticeably so I’m curious to see how they will adapt the rest of the series.. and also if the events get crazier, how will they depict it? It will be interesting to see!

      • kim
        January 12, 2012

        a few things about the kids getting older: the books have a long passage of time (season one was about a year’s worth of time), and secondly, kids getting in bad scrapes can look older without screwing things up. more dirt fixes everything.

  2. The Nate Gatsby
    January 11, 2012

    I have such mixed feelings about this book. Some times I found myself really into it and other times it just plain made me annoyed. There were times where I just didn’t think people would/could act the way they did.

    The book sort of reminded me of a soap opera at times.

    • Jane
      January 11, 2012

      I found myself drifting off at some points, but once I got to the next chapter… I just had to see what happened with the last cliffhanger. The author did a smart move with that one, I got through the boring bits to see the results of previous chapters!

      Any particular moments that you particularly hated? Just curious!

      • The Nate Gatsby
        January 12, 2012

        Most of the really frustration times involved Sansa. I hear she gets more likable later, but in the first book I wanted to kill her. And Tyrion sometimes annoyed me because I wanted to like him but some of the things he did annoyed me.

      • Jane
        January 12, 2012

        Sansa… oh dear, that girl made me want to throw the book across the room. Such a foolish girl, it was hard to like her. As for Tyrion, I really liked him. SUCH a wise ass!

      • kim
        January 12, 2012

        The best way to put up with Sansa is to remember: She Means Well. Whatever she does, it’s never meanspirited, never cruel, never to hurt someone else.
        She’s a poor little lamb… like Cersei was once, filled with dreams of knights and valor.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2012 by in Book Reviews, Book to Screen, Fiction, Jane and tagged , , , , .

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

