JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

“Sticks and stones may break your bones but words can hurt like hell.”

When is the last time you read a Chuck Palahniuk? My boyfriend just finished Lullaby, his first Palahniuk, and I’m having some serious book envy. Perhaps it was my disappointment with Faithful Place and my boredom with Catching Fire (yeah, that’s right, I said it! I feel blasphemous talking bad about The Hunger Games trilogy, but I mean, c’mon… for how many pages can this girl struggle with her feelings for Peeta and Gale?), but whatever it is, I’m craving something that will blow my mind a little.

I haven’t read Palahniuk since I was in high school, and what I have read has nearly drifted completely out of my mind… so I’m open to any and all suggestions! I own… Lullaby, Choke, and Invisible Monsters for sure. Fight Club should be somewhere…I just haven’t seen it on my shelves recently. Most convincing comment (or, rather, whoever actually comments on this!) will decide my (literary) fate.

SIDEBAR: in high school, I never bothered to read Palahniuk’s bio. I Wiki’d him just now and found this hell of an article. No wonder. No freaking wonder. (But I wonder how much of it is true…)

Happy Reading!

Carin

2 comments on ““Sticks and stones may break your bones but words can hurt like hell.”

  1. The Nate Gatsby
    January 21, 2012

    Well if you want a Palahnuik fix, I read Survivor a few weeks ago and thought it was pretty good. If you want to read something out there I’d say you should read As She Climbed Across the Table by Jonathan Lethem. It is sorta science-y at parts but I loved it overall.

  2. Carin
    January 27, 2012

    Thanks for the suggestion! I She Climbed Across the Table sounds insanely intriguing, I don’t think I can resist! Going on my amazon order right now. 🙂

    Thanks again!

    Carin

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2012 by in Carin, Upcoming Titles and tagged , , , , , , , .

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

