JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

The Fault in Our Stars // Book Review

“But I felt like Anna does in the book, that feeling of excitement and gratitude about just being able to marvel at it all.”

… and that’s how I felt about this book. 

For starters… this was my first John Green book. Looking for Alaska has been on my to-read list for the longest time but with the huge stack of books that’s always calling my name, it was easy to let it sit on the back burner. Then The Fault in Our Stars came along… and with the “signed copy” sticker on the cover, I just had to have it.

Sypnosis (courtesy of Goodreads):

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 12, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now. Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault. Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

“You have a choice in this world, I believe, about how to tell sad stories, and we made the funny choice.”

From the above quote, you can already get an insight to the kind of people that Hazel and Augustus are. They are two teens stuck in a world of sickness, yet they are so incredibly unique, quirky, and weird. I couldn’t help but smile and laugh at the exchanges between these characters and to the rest of the world. John Green takes a well-used story and created these two characters that truly carry and make the book. They embody their cancer, poke fun at themselves, and are the kind of people that don’t wallow in self-pity (though they have a perfectly good reason to do so). It makes for a great read.

In a nutshell… I laughed. I cried. I laughed while I cried. I cried while I laughed. Pick it up, it is amazing. 

Enjoy,
Jane

4 comments on “The Fault in Our Stars // Book Review

  1. dmmaster42
    January 25, 2012

    A great review for a truly wonderful book.

  2. The Nate Gatsby
    January 25, 2012

    I hope this gets you to read more of his books, too! They are all that good.

    • Jane
      January 25, 2012

      Yes! I actually just got copies of Looking for Alaska, Paper Towns, and An Abundance of Katherines…. As you can see, I’m ready to get going on a John Green reading marathon! Have you read The Fault in Our Stars yet?

      • The Nate Gatsby
        January 25, 2012

        Yea, I pre-ordered it with a gift card I got for Christmas and read it as soon as it came out. I really loved it. It is hard for me to pick a favorite of John Green books though.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2012 by in Book Reviews, Fiction, Jane, Young Adult and tagged , , , , .

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

