JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

The Fearless Baker // Cookbook Crush

Image

I just finished devouring my best batch of scones to date (in my mission to make scones as delicious as Queen of Tarts’, some 3,000-odd miles from my kitchen, and with many more years of professional baking experience than my… um… zero), and that is all thanks to The Fearless Baker, the recently published cookbook by pastry chef Emily Luchetti and Lisa Weiss. I picked up the book because I am a sweets-fiend, and drooling over half of New York’s bakeries was getting expensive, and, well, embarrassing. I needed a way to make my own, but baking generally intimidated me. Perfect measurements to get consistencies right just isn’t my thing. The most detailed cooking I usually do is “a little of this, a smidge of that, until it looks about done.”

Luckily for me, and all you guys out there like me, The Fearless Baker keeps tools and ingredients super-simple, noting short cuts and substitutes for those of us not trained at the French Culinary Institute or Martha Stewart’s kitchen. And the best part is that they come out tasting fabulous. I could probably sneak my maple/brown sugar/oatmeal scones into Starbucks, sell them for $3.50 a pop, and have people comin’ back for more. ;-).

Happy Baking, everyone!

Carin

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2012 by in Book Reviews, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , , , .

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

