JANE & CARIN

In a short blurb? We talk books.

Divergent: One Choice can Transform You

Divergent. Wow. Wow!

I flew through this book in a mere two days. If that doesn’t tell you something… well it should. It means that it was GOOD.

I’ve realized that I really enjoy the dystopian genre. If utopia is a perfect society then isn’t every society dystopian since… well… perfect doesn’t exist? We all have perspectives of how society can be improved but I dare say that we all have different ideas on how it should be done. Just a little food for thought.

Anyway! Back to Divergent.

In Veronica Roth’s world, there are five factions (in my head, five different Hogwarts houses) — Abnegation (Selfless), Amity (Peaceful), Candor (Honest), Dauntless (Bravery), and Erudite (Knowledge).

Each faction holds its value at a pedestal and because of that, what each mini-society does caters to that specific virtue. For example, the Abnegation are selfless. In their mini-society, they put other people’s needs before their own, which in turn makes them the ideal candidate to be in politics… or does it? Wouldn’t someone in Amity be a great candidate? Since they value peace? OR what about Erudite since they are so knowledgeable about everything?

The story is about Beatrice– who lives with her family in Abnegation. At the age of 16, everyone-including Beatrice and her brother Caleb- takes something like an aptitude test that will indicate which faction they fit into. However, the individual has the final say in which faction he or her would like to go. More often than not, people tend to stay within their faction (and family!). After the decision is made, each individual goes through a series of initiation tests (kind of like pledging for a sorority/fraternity) before they are inducted into the faction. Failure to do so leaves them “factionless” aka homeless and in some cases-death. Divergent takes us along Beatrice’s path through choosing and initiation.

Consensus: 4/5 Stars. I recommend this book. It was a fun ride and I like the idea of these societies that have an emphasis on a specific value. It’s fascinating to me because… well, I feel like all values relate to each other in some way. It’s interesting to see what certain people prioritize.

All in all, fantastic and I can’t wait to get started on Insurgent (pub date: 5/1/12)– which I’m going to be reading tonight because I have an Advance Reading Copy (ARC) courtesy of one of the publicists that I work with. Oh the benefits of being in publishing…

Happy Reading!

Jane

P.S. Veronica Roth is only 23. Meanwhile… I’m… yeah. Damn. Oh and the film rights were already scooped up by Summit.

P.S.S. In case anyone is curious, I tested myself and I am… Team Candor! How did I test myself you ask? Well, there is a little quiz in the back of the paperback (with other fantastic extras that give you a little more insight to the different factions). I have since then “tested” my fellow friends and coworkers… and apparently they all agree that I am in fact Candor.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 6, 2012 by in Book Reviews, Fiction, Jane, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Interested in hearing more? Subscribe to us!

Join 41 other followers

Jane is reading

Carin is reading

Words We Like

“I think it makes more sense to write what you don’t know. To write what makes you uneasy, what you wonder about, what keeps you awake at night."

— Lois Lowry, at the BEA Children’s Book and Author Breakfast

